The Sleeping Partner by Madeleine E. Robins

Alternate History/Regency Mystery

The Sleeping Partner is the third in the Sarah Tolerance Mystery series and I think the best story yet.  This is another series a publisher decided not to continue after the first two books.  Fortunately the series and Miss Tolerance found a new home.

It is a truth, universally acknowledged, that a Fallen Woman of Good Family must, soon or late, descend to Whoredom.”

Miss Tolerance is a Fallen Woman but she is not going to descend to Whoredom.  She has chosen to be an Agent of Inquiry and she has a lot to contend with in The Sleeping Partner. There is a missing girl, an unexpected reunion with the family that disowned her, the strange behavior of her aunt and then there is her friendship with Sir Walter Mandif.  All add up to an engrossing story.  It is fun to move with Miss Tolerance through all the different levels of London, see the rules that are followed and the different characters that live in this period. 

Madeleine Robins has used a slightly changed history in writing the Sarah Tolerance Mysteries.  Most things have stayed the same but some of the politics and people have followed slightly different paths.

You can read this as a stand-alone. The characters drop small hints about the back-story to keep you from being lost but it would be better to start with Point of Honor and Petty Treason.

Plus One Press published The Sleeping Partner by Madeleine E. Robins in 2011.

Click here to see my post on Point of Honor.

Comments Off on The Sleeping Partner by Madeleine E. Robins

Filed under Reviews

Comments are closed.