Kris Longknife: Daring

Military Science Fiction

Kris Longknife: Daring is the 7th book in this series.  I was attending a panel where Mike Shepherd was talking about the Kris Longknife series.  He said that he decided to write a series with a female protagonist after his granddaughter was born.  He wanted her to have books with main characters she could identify with. 

The Kris Longknife series certainly meets the requirement for a strong female main character.  In Daring Kris is sent off to try to find the aliens that are destroying the Iteeche scouts.  She wants to go with a small swift scouting group; one that can look, run and report back.  What she gets is a mix of vessels from different groups.  When they meet up with an alien starship that fires without warning Kris must fight to have any chance of returning. 

Look for non-stop action, unexpected consequences and a cliffhanger ending.  Kris Longknife: Daring is a good addition to the series.  This is another one where it would be better to start at the beginning.  While there is some back-story in Daring Kris has some issues that can only be explained and understood if you read the books in the following order:

Kris Longknife: Mutineer

Kris Longknife: Deserter

Kris Longknife: Defiant

Kris Longknife: Resolute

Kris Longknife: Audacious

Kris Longknife: Intrepid

Kris Longknife: Undaunted

Kris Longknife: Redoubtable

Kris Longknife: Furious is in the works and is the next book in the series.

ACE published Kris Longknife: Daring by Mike Shepherd in 2011.

Comments Off on Kris Longknife: Daring

Filed under Reviews

Comments are closed.