Tag Archives: Historical Mystery

Waiting on Wednesday (WOW) October 10, 2012

  “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. I am waiting on Semper Fidelas, A Novel of the Roman Empire by Ruth Downie.  This is the … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Murder on Fifth Avenue by Victoria Thompson

Historical Mystery Murder on Fifth Avenue is book number fourteen in the Gaslight Mystery series and it did not disappoint.  Sarah Brant and Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy are great characters and they continue to work together to solve a new … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews

Mr. Churchill’s Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal

Historical Mystery  From Goodreads: For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.  London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews

Waiting on Wednesday (WOW) April 11, 2012

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.  I am waiting for Murder On Fifth Avenue, the latest Gaslight Mystery by Victoria Thompson.  This is another series … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

When Maidens Mourn by C.S. Harris

Historical Mystery I love this series and always love when a new one comes out and hate the fact that I will have to wait a year for the next book.  I had When Maidens Mourn on pre-order from Amazon and started reading … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews

The Anatomist’s Apprentice, A Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery by Tessa Harris

Historical Mystery  The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip throughout Oxfordshire. No one mourns the dissolute young man–except his sister, Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, Lydia seeks expert help … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews

Musing Mondays, February 13, 2012

This week’s musing asks… What is your favorite romantic book –or book that includes a love story?(an adult romance, young adult, kids’ story, anything) This one took a little thought.  There are several love stories that I like.  I love … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Waiting on Wednesday December 14, 2011

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. This is a new historical mystery series due out December 27th, 2011.  I read about it Romantic Times and … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews

A Burial at Sea by Charles Finch

Historical Mystery A Burial At Sea is set in 1873.  This is a time of great tension between France and England and war is a possibility.  Both England and France have spies everywhere.  Somewhere England has a leak and several of their spies in … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews

The Necklace Affair and A Body in Berkley Square by Ashley Gardner

I purchased The Necklace Affair when it came out in June and have been saving it until A Body in Berkley Square came out so I could read two Captain Lacey books in a row.  Now I have finished both and … Continue reading

Comments Off

Filed under Reviews